3.9.2018

Bulbes de fleurs

Au début du printemps, les bulbes de fleurs apportent de la couleur au paysage urbain et méritent certainement une place dans les parterres, les bordures ou les bandes de gazon. Il y a des bulbes qui fleurissent au printemps ou en été. Les espèces qui se reproduisent très facilement peuvent rester dans le sol après la floraison. Elles reviennent chaque année, et souvent même...

Lire la suite
3.9.2018

Plantes vivaces

L’utilisation de plantes vivaces dans De Groene Stad est étendue : des bacs à fleurs, les jardinières, les miroirs d'arbres et les ronds-points aux plantations sur les murs et les façades. Elles conviennent parfaitement lorsqu’elles sont associées avec d'autres plantes vivaces, bulbes de fleurs ou arbustes. Certaines espèces attirent les abeilles et les papillons, telles que...

Lire la suite
3.9.2018

Plantes grimpantes

Les plantes grimpantes contribuent également à l’environnement de la ville. Les façades vertes atténuent les bruits, font baisser la température estivale et améliorent la qualité de l'air. On sait que diverses plantes grimpantes, comme les Hedera (lierre), Pyracantha (Pyracantha) et Fallopia baldschuanica (renouée grimpante), capturent les particules fines, absorbent le diox...

Lire la suite
3.9.2018

Arbustes

Dans un environnement verdoyant, les arbustes présentant une diversité de formes et de couleurs ne devraient pas manquer. Que ce soit pour des parterres, des haies ou des associations avec d'autres plantes, la gamme est large. De nombreux arbustes s'entretiennent très facilement. On sait, entre autres, que les espèces à feuilles caduques et à feuilles persistantes d’Euonymus...

Lire la suite
3.9.2018

Arbres

Les arbres sont le squelette de De Groene Stad. Grâce à leur grande quantité de feuilles, les arbres sont très efficaces pour filtrer les polluants dans l’air. Les arbres à feuilles caduques tels que le Quercus robur (chêne commun) absorbent principalement la pollution gazeuse, telle que l'ozone et l'oxyde d'azote. Les conifères, dont le Pinus nigra (pin noir), sont des lead...

Lire la suite

2.8.2018

Climbing plants

Climbing plants also contribute to the city’s living environment. Plant-covered facades muffle noise, lower summer temperatures and improve air quality. Various climbing plants, including Hedera (Ivy), Pyracantha (Firethorn) and Fallopia baldschuanica (Silver Lace Vine), are known to have leaves that capture particulates, absorb nitrous oxide, and reduce the concentration of ozone in the air. The flowers of certain climbers, such as Clematis...

Read More
2.8.2018

Perennials

Perennials have a wide range of uses in The Green City: flower boxes, planting beds, beneath tree canopies, on roundabouts and planted against walls and facades. These plants are perfect for combining with other perennials, flower bulbs or shrubs. Some varieties attract bees and butterflies: Aster ageratoides (Japanese Wood Aster), Nepeta (Catmint) and the long-flowering Geranium (Cranesbill). Others are evergreen plants or one of many ornamen...

Read More
2.8.2018

Flower bulbs

Flower bulbs add colour to cityscapes early in spring and definitely deserve a place in containers, borders or grassy strips such as medians and verges. Some flower bulbs produce flowers in spring while others bloom in summer. Some are naturalized flower bulbs that can be left undisturbed. These will emerge year after year, often in even larger numbers. These include Early Crocus, Woodland Tulip, Daffodil, Snowdrop and Spanish Bluebell. Others...

Read More
2.8.2018

Shrubs

The diversity of shapes and colours that shrubs provide makes them an essential element in a green landscape. Whether used for beds, hedging or combinations with other plants, there are many excellent varieties, many of which are suitable for large-scaled management. Certain deciduous and evergreen shrubs are known to be effective at reducing quantities of particulates, nitrous oxide and ozone in the air. Good examples are Euonymus (Burning Bu...

Read More
25.7.2018

Trees

Trees provide The Green City with a framework. With so many leaves, trees are very effective at filtering pollutants from the air. Deciduous trees such as Quercus robur (European Oak) are especially effective in absorbing gaseous pollutants such as ozone and nitrous oxide. Conifers such as Pinus nigra (Austrian Pine) lead the way in removing particulates from the air.

Using various tree species provides even more benefits: they are also...

Read More